Huneke Distinguished Sponsor Award

Mu Alpha Theta established this award in 1986 in honor of Harold Huneke, a former Secretary/Treasurer of National Mu Alpha Theta. Each year the Huneke Award honors a current or retired sponsor who has labored tirelessly and made significant contributions to Mu Alpha Theta. To be nominated, the individual must have served as a Mu Alpha Theta sponsor for at least five years, have attended at least two national conventions (or will attend a second convention this year), and cannot currently be a member of the Mu Alpha Theta Governing Council.

The award includes a $2,000 cash award to the winner and an award of $1,000 to the sponsor's chapter or former chapter.

In January 2012, the Governing Council voted to make this a peer-nominated award. Nominations should be made by a coworker, administrator, or other Mu Alpha Theta sponsor.

The Governing Council will choose the winner of the Huneke Award and the winner will be announced at the National Convention. The sponsor does not need to be present at the convention to win. Also, any sponsor whose name is nominated, but does not win the award, will have their application reconsidered for the following two years for the award.

Sponsors may be nominated for both the Sister Scholastica Award and Huneke Award in the same year, but no sponsor may win either award more than once.

How To Nominate A Sponsor

Nominations should be made by a coworker, administrator, or other Mu Alpha Theta sponsor. Please complete the application form. Both forms should be sent together with three recommendation letters, at most one from a current student. Other letters may be from co-workers, administrators, former students, or Mu Alpha Theta colleagues.

2019 Huneke Distinguished Sponsor Award application

All nomination materials must be postmarked no later than June 15, 2019, and mailed to:

Mu Alpha Theta

Huneke Award

c/o University of Oklahoma

3200 Marshall Ave, Suite 190

Norman, OK 73019

In Partnership With

Mu Alpha Theta

National High School & Two-Year College Mathematics Honor Society

Socialize with us

Contact us

Mu Alpha Theta
c/o University of Oklahoma
3200 Marshall Ave, Ste 190 Norman, OK 73019

Ph 405-325-0144
Mon - Fri 8am - 5pm CT

Design by Design Thumbprint.