Governance & Policies

Governing Council

National policy for the organization is determined by a governing council consisting of three national officers (president, president-elect or the immediate past president, and treasurer), four regional governors, and representatives appointed by the Mathematical Association of America, the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges.

The national officers and the governors are elected by chapter sponsors and serve without remuneration. The governing council meets twice a year, in January to set the yearly budget and at the national convention each summer.

The everyday functions of Mu Alpha Theta are handled by the executive director who is appointed by the treasurer with approval of the governing council. The executive director is a non-voting member of the governing council. Click here to find out more about our governing council.

Student Delegate Assembly

During each summer's national convention, the student delegate assembly meets to discuss issues of concern to member schools attending the convention. Each school that attends our national convention selects a representative to attend these meetings. Each delegate casts votes on issues brought up and makes motions on issues they wish discussed. The assembly also hears recommendations for the Sister Scholastica Most Committed Sponsor Award and selects the teacher who will receive the award. Click here to find out more about our student delegate assembly and its bylaws.

National Constitution and bylaws

View our national constitution, with included bylaws.

Mu Alpha Theta's Policies & Guidelines

In Partnership With

Mu Alpha Theta

National High School & Two-Year College Mathematics Honor Society

Socialize with us

Contact us

Mu Alpha Theta
c/o University of Oklahoma
3200 Marshall Ave, Ste 150 Norman, OK 73019

Ph 405-325-0144
Mon - Fri 8am - 5pm CT

Design by Design Thumbprint.